You are here

Lesson 7 Comprehensive Pinyin Review (Part 1)

preview

In this two-part comprehensive review of Pinyin, we will:

• Examine Pinyin spellings that look English but are pronounced in a Chinese way.
• Go over challenging Pinyin pronunciations that don't exist in English.
• Learn tips and tricks on how to pronounce them.

In this two-part comprehensive review of Pinyin, we will:

• Examine Pinyin spellings that look English but are pronounced in a Chinese way.
• Go over challenging Pinyin pronunciations that don't exist in English.
• Learn tips and tricks on how to pronounce them.

Comments (21)

hi yangyang can you please speak Chinese in the harder videos for experts. Keep up the great work.
Tina Hou 6 months 2 weeks ago
yang yang I like your videos a lot but I cannot open them in China .are there videos in 优酷?
韩益平 1 year 10 months ago
use Astrill, it will remove the greatfirewall like greatwall made of foam
SaidDZ 1 year 8 months ago
Unfortunately, there's been an issue with the Great Firewall of China that causes the problem. There's nothing much we can do immediately to resolve the problem. The video are not in Youku. Sorry for the inconvenience it causes.
Yoyo Chinese 1 year 10 months ago
Thank you very much :) Also I am wondering why is it that most Chinese people do not know pinyin, only characters. Since you mention that they are taught pinyin.
Kacharna 1 year 10 months ago
When you say "most Chinese people", who exactly are you talking about? Which country? Which province? What age range? In general people who grew up in Taiwan used a different phonetic system to learn Mandarin, though Taiwan is slowly switching over to Pinyin now. In mainland China, students are taught using pinyin these days, but people older than about 45 (I think) are not likely to understand it, because schooling was not always available or standardized back when they were growing up.
Corey 1 year 10 months ago
Thank you very much :) Also I am wondering why is it that most Chinese people do not know pinyin, only characters. Since you mention that they are taught pinyin.
Kacharna 1 year 10 months ago
Thank you very much :) Also I am wondering why is it that most Chinese people do not know pinyin, only characters. Since you mention that they are taught pinyin.
Kacharna 1 year 10 months ago
Thank You Yangyang, This video explained me a lot. I 'll try again to practice my spoken Chinese. All I need now is something to upgrade my bad memory... Julien (Belgium)
Julien 1 year 10 months ago
Practice makes it perfect. Keep up the good works. :)
Yoyo Chinese 1 year 10 months ago
Super video Yangyang. Very comprehensive and enjoyable
ABBA 1 year 10 months ago
Glad that you enjoyed it. :)
Yoyo Chinese 1 year 10 months ago
Especially in this pinyin lesson, Yangyang is the nervous OVERexplainer!!!
Englert 2 years 2 weeks ago
Glad to hear your pronunciation is so perfect, Englert! These drills are to help beginners and those with specific pronunciation problems to correct their Chinese pronunciation. I think it is a good balance between explanation and practice, and helped me as well as others.
moorloc 1 year 10 months ago
You are a really good teacher. And also so charming and kind. I wish more people were like you.
Lex33 2 years 3 weeks ago
Chinese pinyin spelling is not weird. english spelling is weird, english spelling was designed before great vowel shift occured in modern english... thats why you have SUN, MUD pronounced differently, and PUT retained the original U sound. So, ENGLISH is weird !!!
Leonardo Jerkovic 2 years 2 months ago
Great video! I learnt Chinese in school and these rules were never explained clearly in our classes... I picked up the correct pinyin pronunciation in the end through exposure, drilling and slowly becoming familiar with Chinese words. Knowing these rules would have been so much faster and easier in the beginning! The u and ü rule explanation is so great - really helpful!
Sarah Huishi 2 years 2 months ago
Thank you so much for the nice comments. Glad that you found it helpful. :)
Yoyo Chinese 2 years 2 months ago
A lot of rules to remember for me. Thank you for your information again.
Jindapol 2 years 3 months ago
Super Helpful!! Thank you so much Yang Yang!
deni_osores 2 years 4 months ago
Thanks for the comment. Glad that you found it helpful. :)
Yoyo Chinese 2 years 4 months ago
Instant Access to all
Free Yoyo Chinese Content